Weathering Texas

We have been sheltering in place at a beautiful corps of engineer park in south east Texas, and learning how to endure the threats of severe weather in recent weeks.


It has now been 47 days since we landed here, and we feel fortunate to have a place to stay, with all the basic amenities. How often have you wanted a lake all to yourself (aside from one other family and volunteers overseeing the place)?

The lake is beautiful, although not one for swimming, unless you like alligators.

Some mornings, it is almost surreal with the mist lifting off the surface.

Nighttime activity varies as much as sunrises, with some nights so quiet, you feel like you are the only living thing around, then other nights tree frogs or some other creatures sing to their hearts content in the woods.

We never know what wildlife we will see from day to day. I spotted a huge bird flying over head last week, and did not have my camera handy. It turned out to be a swallow-tailed kite. We have often seen swallowtail butterflies, but never a bird.

Another time, while we were at a rest Area in Mississippi, I saw a huge mud pile with a hole in the top large enough for a mouse, and my first thoughts were hornets. Now I come to find out it was the freshwater crustaceans I crave in an ettouffe.

Traveling really does broaden ones’ experience. This experience has been very different, and during the downtime and social distancing, we have gone back to the basics of making bread at home, doing all the laundry by hand, and taking the time to maintain all those things that no longer have an excuse for putting off.

We have tried to be respectful and not disturb our guests.

We get anxious to be on the road again, but are also blessed with the opportunity to be here and safe.

2 thoughts on “Weathering Texas”

  1. Very pleased to hear you have found a safe and comfortable place to SIP. I like that you are taking the time to maintain items that you have no excuse not to take care of. Wish I was so disciplined!! Some things I think I should take care of, now, I still put off until tomorrow. Take care, stay safe.

    1. How wonderful to hear from you, and hope you are finding great ways to go about life while social distancing. As for tackling the to-do list, sometimes things go astray. I had been meaning to wash and re-scotch guard the dinette cushions for months now. It was a good thing I started one at a time. Guess what, the zipper slider broke and it was some special type of heavy duty clasp for which I will have to locate a replacement.

      Yes – the list got longer, and as we all know there is always a work-a-round. I spent another half hour neatly hand-stitching the closure.

      I am not washing the second cushion, until I gather more strong thread, just in case. What a crazy time, right?

      Jackie

      >

Leave a comment